“GIFTS” : CLARE WHISTLER & JOANNA LAWRENCE (VIOLINIST) TUESDAY 15 MAY 7.30
With a return to our original base in the Barnett’s lounge, this will be a strictly limited ticket to celebrate 5 years of the Literary Lounge (and a special birthday)!  Artists Clare Whistler and violinist Joanna Lawrence present a performance made for bookshops.  An event featuring eight gifts – an hour of music, spoken word, readings, and poetry. Bach, Biber, Syrian folksong and specially commissioned pieces.

The Gifts Bookshop Tour takes its inspiration from GIFTS, a ten-year project by Clare Whistler of eight objects traditionally given to welcome a new child into the world www.clarewhistlergifts.co.uk  Gifts, the book and a film by Nichola Bruce were presented at 7th Whitstable Biennial, Art In Romney Churches, Battle Festival and exhibited during UTOPIAS at Somerset House London winter 2016.
 
Clare's work breaks down the boundaries between art disciplines and hopes to offer insight, feeling and moments of timeless beauty whether in performance, text, music, site-specific work, visual art and landscape.  Joanna Lawrence's musical passion lies within both early and contemporary music. Her fascination with historical performance has led her to play with most London period bands. She is a member of Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Academy of Ancient Music and has toured worldwide and recording extensively.

DAVINA LANGDALE: TUESDAY 19TH JUNE 7.30
Davina Langdale’s first novel “The Brittle Star” has flown out of Barnett’s, recommended highly both by critics and by word of mouth:
“Totally Brilliant” Dan Snow  'Pacy, thrilling, well-plotted . . . an extraordinary debut novel' Andrew Roberts, author
“Langdale is excellent -The Brittle Star is a great beginning to what I hope is a long and productive career' Guardian

Perfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and True Grit, The Brittle Star is the epic story of a young man's unquenchable spirit.  When his mother's ranch is attacked, sixteen-year-old John Evert is wounded and left to die. But John Evert is no ordinary young man. He's a frontiersman's son, a rancher who's lived his whole life in the untamed Southern California wilderness of 1860. In a journey that will take him from the bustling young city of Los Angeles to Texas to Missouri and back, to the front lines of the American Civil War and home again, John Evert will learn the cost of vengeance and the price of forgiveness.



 

 








All events start at the shop and include refreshments. Tickets should be purchased in advance from Barnett’s as places are limited.  Join our mailing list to avoid disappointment!

 

Literary Lounge 2017